SUPPORT NEEDED!

For the past year, local conservation activists have sought to have Clam Bay included in the manatee protection rule for Collier County that is under review by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC). The rule identifies areas where boating speeds are restricted to protect manatees. Last spring, the Local Rule Review Committee recommended 7-2 that Clam Bay be included. It was great news! However, FWC staff has since decided to advise the FWC Commissioners not to add Clam Bay when they take final action at their meeting in Tallahassee on Thursday, April 20, 2017.

WE NEED YOUR HELP TO SEND AN EMAIL!

The Pelican Bay Foundation, the Pelican Bay Services Division, the Mangrove Action Group and the Pelican Bay Property Owners Association have all submitted comments in support. But now, we need a final push to flood the FWC commissioners with emails. The message is to “urge them to establish a slow speed zone in Outer Clam Bay under the manatee protection rule for Collier County.” Here is a link to talking points: FWC Talking Points

HOW TO SEND AN EMAIL AND TO WHOM

  • When you contact the commissioners, put “Collier County Rule” in the subject line.
  • Individualized emails would be great, but to contact all the commissioners in a single email, group the addresses using the “blind copy” feature and address your message as “Dear Commissioner.”
  • Also include the general email address as a back-up.

Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commissioners
Brian Yablonski, Brian.Yablonski@myfwc.com
Aliese P. “Liesa”  Priddy, Aliese.Priddy@myfwc.com
Ronald M. Bergeron, Ronald.Bergeron@myfwc.com
Richard Hanas, Richard.Hanas@myfwc.com
Bo Rivard, Bo.Rivard@myfwc.com
Charles W. Roberts, III,  Charles.Roberts@myfwc.com
Robert A. Spottswood, Robert.Spottswood@myfwc.com
General Email:  Commissioners@myfwc.com

WANT TO ATTEND THE FWC MEETING IN TALLAHASSEE?
If you are interested in attending the FWC meeting in Tallahassee with other Pelican Bay members, contact Suzanne Minadeo at sminadeo@pelicanbay.org.

Please take action by FRIDAY, APRIL 14 to protect Clam Bay from excessive boating speeds that harm manatees and seagrasses!